Day: October 15, 2015

Lindemann: Skills in Pills – I just need to talk about this album – NSFW

Lindemann came in the mail today.
Lindemann came in the mail today.

WARNING: Every link in this post is NSFW.

So anyone reading this who knows me well is aware that Rammstein is my most favoritest band in the whole world. Since they don’t have anything in the pipeline at the moment (except for the tour DVD – on order!) of course I have to check out everything that their members produce.

I was not sure what to expect when I first heard the Lindemann project was happening. I have listened to Emigrate, which is OK but kind of mainstream, and also Eisbrecher, which I do rather like. Both lack that special Rammstein magic though. No offense, it’s just when all six of them get together it’s special.

I was particularly apprehensive when I learned that Till that would be singing in English. The German is part of the magic and authenticity of the band. It is also part of the plausible deniability, because Rammstein lyrics can be pretty messed up sometimes. I saw the video for Praise Abort, which is beyond messed up and completely grotesque. At first I was sure I was not going to pick up Skills in Pills because it was just too much, even for me. Just imagine all the most offensive things you can think of, and then multiply by ten, and then put it in a blender. But then I found that the song was stuck in my head. In spite of the grotesqueness of the imagery it was hooked into my brain. So I broke down and ordered the album.

Just the other day Paul alerted me to the fact that the video for Fish On had been released. At first I was scared, and a little horrified, but if you are a viewer who started watching it and then stopped because you were afraid of what was going to happen next I am here to assure you that it is OK, what you think is going to happen does not happen. I mean, it’s still crazy, but it’s not that bad.

So anyway, the album came today and I have been listening to it, and man is it good. I love this music. The lyrics are extremely sexual and/or drug related, and unfortunately that plausible deniability is gone. They even included a book of liner notes with all of the lyrics. And there is a photo for each song. It is disturbing and grotesque and wonderful.

I don’t want to downplay the importance of Peter Tägtgren in the creation of Lindemann, but I don’t listen to as much death metal as Paul does so I’m not as well versed in his work. But maybe I will be soon.

So buy it. Or don’t buy it. I don’t know what your sensibilities are. I’m just saying, you’ve been warned.