Bellydance Poster Design

Beginning Bellydance with Erica
The poster for belly dance class

In my spare time this week I committed myself to having less spare time! But it is a labor of love, as I am now the new belly dance teacher at the Spirit Room! I’m very excited about it as it is something I’ve thought about doing for a while now. The opportunity had not come up until recently. My most recent teacher, Rebecca, is working on her doctorate and would not have the time to commit to the class this year. So she asked me! I finalized things with Dawn, the director of the Spirit Room, and my first act as the new teacher was to make my own promotional poster. This is of course lots of fun for me being a photographer (travel and fine art) and having just upgraded to Adobe Photoshop CS5. It’s nothing fancy, but it was fun. The silhouette in the poster is that of a fellow student from Laura’s class at the Y, Lori Landa.  I did a whole lot of things to the picture to the point where I can’t remember it all. I believe I started with cutting Lori out using the quick selection tool. It came out rough and I decided I liked it because it gave it a sort of ancient quality. Then I desaturated it, did a “find edges” filter, and then the “bask relief” artistic filter. The top graphic design is a brush from Obsidian Dawn. I kept this all B&W because I knew it would be photocopied for fliers.

I have also decided I need to start a belly dance blog. I only know two other groups of belly dancers in the Fargo/Moorhead area. Neither have updated their web sites in at least a year. It’s hard to get the community of dancers together when nobody is current! I do not have that set up yet.

So I’ll be doing that in my spare time.

Leave a Reply

